New Jersey State CPE Requirements for CPAs
- By Matthew Briggson
- August 7th, 2018
We speak to many certified public accountants who migrate to the east coast for opportunities in the financial sector. While some head directly to New York City, the financial capital of the world, others end up in various cities along the Atlantic coast line. New Jersey is a popular place for CPAs to call home because it enables them to work in a big city like Newark and it’s still close enough to commute to New York City when needed. Big Four accounting giant PwC calls New Jersey home to its national office in the United States. For CPAs relocating to New Jersey, it can feel overwhelming to apply for a new license and keep up with the new continuing education requirements. In this article, we’ll take a look at those requirements for New Jersey CPAs.
CPAs practicing in New Jersey are required to take 120 hours of continuing education every three years. The triennial reporting period runs from 1/1 to 12/31 and CPAs are required to take a minimum of 20 credit hours each of the three years. The New Jersey state board places a strong emphasis on the types of CPE through the following credit limitations:
*Up to 60 hours of CPE credits for instructing.
*Up to 30 hours toward the publishing of materials.
*Up to 60 hours toward technical reviews or peer review programs.
*Credits for courses on marketing or business development are not accepted.
*Self-study credits are accepted only from providers who are registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).
For more information about these New Jersey restrictions, please see: http://njcpa.org/cpe/maintain-your-license/license-renewal
The New Jersey State Board requires CPAs to take 72 hours (of the 120) in technical subjects which include: Accounting; Auditing, including but not limited to, review, compilation and attest standards; Business Law; Computer Science; Economics; Finance; Management Advisory Services; Mathematics, Statistics, etc.; SEC Practice; Taxation; and Professional Ethics.
If a CPA is practicing in public accounting or providing attestation services, they must take 24 credit hours in Auditing or Review and Compilation courses.
4 hours of ethics must be completed each triennial period with those credits coming from a provider specifically approved by the Board.
License Renewal Date
The deadline to send in the “Notice of Renewal” form is 11/31 every three years with the next deadline coming November 31st, 2017.
Other Board Policies
All CPE providers must be New Jersey Board registered unless they are one of the following:
*Accredited university or college.
*National state professional organization.
*Federal or state government agency.
*NASBA approved CPE sponsor.
Finding High Quality CPE
When it comes time to find top quality CPE that will meet the New Jersey Board requirements, look no further than Encoursa. We partner with the top thought leaders in the industry to bring you CPE courses that will not only ensure you meet your continuing education requirements, but also help you advance in your career.
- New jersey cpa cpe
- nj cpe
- new jersey cpa
- cpa cpe